National Merit Semifinalists

Four Westfield High School seniors were recognized as National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists at the Sept. 17 Board of Education Meeting.  Ian Gurland, Aidan Kilbourn, Connie Liu and Julia Tompkins were presented with Certificates of Recognition by Board president Peggy Oster.

“Less than one percent of U.S. high school seniors qualify as National Merit Semifinalists,” said Oster as she congratulated the four on this prestigious achievement.  “The National Merit Scholarship Program honors students who show exceptional academic ability and potential for success.  Ian, Aidan, Connie, and Julia are among the highest scoring entrants and are eligible to continue in the competition for a National Merit Scholarship.”

Also mentioned at the Board meeting were twenty WHS students who have been recognized for their exceptional academic promise as Commended Students in the 2020 National Merit Scholarship Competition:  Matthew Arndt, Logan Calder, Valerie Chang, Clea Demuynck, Eric Elizes, Mark Falletta, Spencer Feinstein, Zachary Fischer, Daniel Fox, Julia Horne, Kurt Hu, Grace Hutchinson, Jeremy Kronheimer, Thomas Lupicki, Stephen Park, Sandrine Perez, Jonathan Sherman, Elijah Soh, Max Tennant, and Etan Zeller MacLean.

Source: Westfield Public Schools